KU Libraries: Appeals to Library Charges
To report the requirements and options available to library users for appealing overdue fines, lost item replacement costs, service processing fees, and damage charges incurred with the KU Libraries.
All users of the University of Kansas Libraries facilities, services, collections, and/or equipment on the Lawrence Campus including: 1) KU Undergraduate, Graduate, and Law students currently enrolled through the Lawrence and Edwards Campuses; 2) KU Faculty (including Lecturers), Unclassified Academic Staff, Unclassified Professional Staff, University Support Staff, and Affiliates (including Emeritus and Retirees) currently in active or leave status in Lawrence/Edwards Campus HR records; 3) KU Med Students, Faculty, and Staff; 4) Resident and Reciprocal users; 5) Visiting Scholars; and 6) all other visitors. This policy applies to collections and services in Anschutz Library, Gorton Music & Dance Library, Library Annex, Murphy Art & Architecture Library, Spahr Engineering Library, and Watson Library.
Library users have the right to appeal any library charge within 30 days of the original library billing date recorded in the "Notice of Fine or Fee from KU Libraries." Library charges include overdue fines, lost item replacement costs, service processing fees, and damage charges incurred with the KU Libraries.
To enter an appeal to library charges, contact the Circulation Business Specialist, firstname.lastname@example.org.
Library staff will work with the library user to explain and clarify library policies and procedures and any options available to the user. If a resolution is not reached, the library user will be referred to the Library Appeals process, a procedure implemented through University Governance.
This policy does not apply to Kenneth Spencer Research Library or the Wheat Law Library on the Lawrence campus or to the KU Medical Center libraries (Clendening, Dykes, and Farha).
- Borrowing privileges are suspended if the borrower: a) accumulates a total of $80 or more in unpaid library charges; b) is no longer enrolled at or employed by the University; c) no longer has a valid KU Library Borrower Card. Individuals who no longer qualify for KU Libraries privileges remain responsible for items checked out and for charges incurred when library privileges were active.
- Library charges must be paid promptly. Unpaid charges are transferred to Student Accounts & Receivables for collection at approximately 90 days after the charges were first incurred. Failure to pay results in the loss of borrowing privileges and access to request services, the placement of holds on transcripts and enrollment, referral of unpaid charges to collection agencies, and/or garnishment of paychecks, state income tax refunds, etc.
University of Kansas Libraries
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045
Asking Questions about KU Libraries Policies and Procedures
Previously documented via KU Libraries website content.
11/03/2017: Policy update reviewed and approved by Assistant Dean of Libraries for Content and Access Services. Made additions to and updated links to KU Policy Library documents and to library website content in Related Policies and Related Other sections.
03/23/2015: Updated to reflect current nomenclature for Student Account Services.
01/07/2015: Updated Approved on and Effective on dates to reflect the original date the policy was implemented.
12/01/2014: Minor technical edit to links.
11/06/2014: Reviewed and approved for inclusion in KU Policy Library.
08/01/1999: Policy effective.