Assigning URLs to New Policy Library Documents

Writing New URLs

By following the recommended URL naming convention, we can ensure that the subject and policy owner for each Policy Library document is easily identifiable by the user. Consistency is key. The recommended format for URL naming is as follows: office-name/policy-name

Example:
Policy Owner: Human Resources
Policy Title: Workplace Violence Policy
New URL: human-resources/workplace-violence

You will always use the same Policy Owner prefix for your policies, and the only thing you will need to customize each time is what you will use for the policy title. We recommend using the most concise version of the policy name possible, excluding words such as ‘of, ’ ‘the,’ ‘a,’ etc., and separating words with dashes

List of Policy Owners and corresponding URL prefixes:

Policy Owner URL alias prefix
Academic Achievement & Access Center AAAC/
Business and Financial Planning business-financial/
Campus Operations campus-operations/
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences CLAS/
Comptroller comptroller/
Continuing Education continuing-education/
Counseling & Psychological Services CAPS/
Department of Student Housing housing/
Design and Construction Management DCM/
Edwards Campus edwards/
Environment, Health & Safety EHS/
Governance governance/
Graduate Studies graduate-studies/
Hilltop Child Development Center hilltop/
Human Resources human-resources/
Information Technology IT/
Institutional Opportunity & Access IOA/
Internal Audit internal-audit/
International Programs international-programs/
Kansas Board of Regents  
KU Card Center card-center/
KU Memorial Unions KU-memorial-unions/
KU Recreation Services recreation-services/
KUMC Equal Opportunity Office KUMC/equal-opportunity
KUMC Faculty Affairs KUMC/faculty-affairs
KUMC Human Research Protection Programs KUMC/human-research-protection/
KUMC Information Resources KUMC/information-resources/
KUMC Information Technology KUMC/information-technology/
KUMC Instiutional Finance KUMC/instiutional-finance/
KUMC Office of Academic Affairs KUMC/academic-affairs/
KUMC Office of the Registrar/Admissions KUMC/registrar/
KUMC Postdoctoral Affairs and Graduate Studies KUMC/postdoc-and-grad-studies
KUMC Research Institute KUMC/research-institute/
KUMC School of Health Professions KUMC/health-professions/
KUMC Student Financial Aid KUMC/financial-aid/
KUMC Student Services KUMC/student-services/
Legal Services for Students LSS/
Libraries libraries/
Office of Admissions admissions/
Office of Financial & Scholarships financial-aid-scholarships/
Office of Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor provost/
Office of Public Safety public-safety/
Office of Research research/
Office of the Chancellor chancellor/
Office of University Events & Protocol events-protocol/
Office of the University Registrar registrar/
Parking parking/
Policy Office policy-office/
Procurement Office procurement/
Public Affairs public-affairs/
School of Architecture, Design, and Planning SADP/
School of Business business/
School of Education education/
School of Engineering engineering/
School of Journalism journalism/
School of Law law-school/
School of Music music/
School of Pharmacy pharmacy/
School of Social Welfare social-welfare/
Spencer Museum of Art sma/
Student Affairs student-affairs/
Student Health Services student-health-services/
Student Involvement & Leadership Center SILC/
Student Senate student-senate/
Unclassified Senate unclassified-senate/
Undergraduate Advising Center undergraduate-advising/
Undergraduate Studies undergraduate-studies/
University Career Center UCC/

Can't Find What You're Looking For?
Policy Library Search
New Policies in the last 30 days
KU Today
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times